Trends in Architecture 2021

The Iconic Awards: Innovative Architecture set trends

Wooden architecture for a carbon-neutral future

Workstation Cabin, Hello Wood

The European Union intends to be climate-neutral by 2050. This will require decarbonisation at every level of the economy, with the construction sector having a particularly key role to play. The sector accounts for around 40 per cent of CO2 emissions globally, and steel and concrete, in particular, take enormous amounts of energy to produce. There needs to be a paradigm shift to break free from these building materials and the associated environmental impact. Natural, renewable building materials play a crucial part in this.

Most notably, the eco-all-rounder wood is undergoing a real renaissance. Wooden architecture reduces the concentration of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere in several ways. Firstly, sustainably managed woods and forests play a key role in tackling the greenhouse effect by removing CO2 from the atmosphere. The wood used for architecture in turn provides further environmental protection as the raw material acts as a natural binder for the greenhouse gas that causes global warming and thus as a carbon store. As a renewable and also easily recyclable resource, it offers a compelling alternative to the mineral-based building materials that are currently used. Wood has been used as a building material for thousands of years, but the current trend for this material has little to do with traditional construction techniques. Computer-aided design programs and the use of high-tech construction and processing machines now enable precisely calculated structures. These engineering possibilities minimise the use of materials and also open up entirely new aesthetic avenues. Architects are making bold progress here and are actively helping to shape a carbon-neutral future.

This trend is reflected in the winning projects of the ICONIC AWARDS: INNOVATIVE ARCHITECTURE 2021. The firm KOZ Architectes has created Europe’s largest wooden residential building with Sensations in Strasbourg. The technical brilliance of this eleven-storey building with 146 apartments meant that it could even be built in an area that experiences seismic activity. Cross-laminated timber (CLT) was used as the material. This is also currently being used to construct the Sawa residential tower in Rotterdam, designed by Mei architects and planners. The 50-metre high building at the port features a stepped design all the way to the top, providing plenty of room for green spaces on the terraces of each storey and thus also supporting biodiversity. Concepts that work on a large scale also make sense on a small scale: The wooden workstation from Hello Wood Studios is a modular mini room that is quick to construct and enables flexible use. There is also rapid growth in new wood technologies outside of the big cities. Whether it’s the Stadttor Troisdorf project by Atelier Brückner, the passive house in the Franconian Lake District by Nouri-Schellinger, the house and studio in Mellau by Jürgen Haller Architekten or the multi-generation housing in Gümligen by Marazzi + Paul Architekten – wood is the vehicle of choice for the transition to a green, carbon-neutral future in all of these structures.

 

Example projects:

Sensation in Strasbourg (France) by KOZ Architectes

Sawa in Rotterdam (Netherlands) by Mei architects and planners

Stadttor Troisdorf (Germany) by Atelier Brückner

Residential building in Gümligen (Switzerland) by Marazzi + Paul Architekten

Workstation by Hello Wood Studios

Two-family passive house in the Franconian Lake District (Germany) by Nouri-Schellinger

Tempel 74 in Mellau (Austria) by Jürgen Haller Architekten

Turmhaus Tirol (Austria) by Grünecker Reichelt Architekten and holzrausch

Roots image book (Germany) by Agentur Stern

Conversion, adaptive reuse and urban mining for the environmental transition

Rusted Mill House, DETALE Architecture and Engineering

Questions about what sustainability means also inevitably discuss social values. One such value is the newness of a product or object. This has so far been seen as an achievement, per se. This notion is particularly problematic in the construction industry, where it leads to widespread demolition of existing structures that must make way for new, supposedly better buildings. A whole series of major modern structures from the post-war period, which once symbolised a generation’s spirit of optimism, are now up for consideration. From an environmental perspective in particular, the principle of demolishing and rebuilding is now no longer productive in many cases, as this goes hand in hand with an enormous waste of energy and building materials such as concrete and steel, which are difficult to recycle.

However, a change in thinking is now under way. Buildings are being redeveloped, renovated and extended with architectural interventions to meet modern-day needs. There is new concern emerging for what already exists. Urban mining, which involves using existing building stock as the raw material for new buildings, has become highly popular. And, importantly, the European Commission published its Renovation Wave strategy as part of the Green Deal in autumn 2020. This aims to encourage major upgrades in the energy performance of public and private buildings.

Reusing existing structures is no longer a niche area – it has become a phenomenon that can be observed around the world. This can also be seen in the winning projects at the ICONIC AWARDS: INNOVATIVE ARCHITECTURE 2021. The Chinese firm Moguang Studio has transformed a former garment factory in Beizhuang into a centre for young people. Indoor play areas, learning spaces, family accommodation and a restaurant have been integrated into the historic structure with contemporary fittings. In the Greek town of Kardamyli, Detale Architecture and Engineering have restored a farmhouse from the mid-19th century, with additions in COR-TEN steel deliberately standing out from the existing building. Adamas Architect Ateliers took a particularly delicate approach for the Ogumo Casa Kyoto Machiya Guesthouse project in Kyoto. They were able to repair all of the components of the historic wooden house and so preserve a place full of cultural and spiritual traditions. In Urla, Izmir in Turkey, ONZ Architects converted an abandoned soap factory into a research lab for an energy company. And in Singen in Baden-Württemberg, GMS Architekten has revitalised the Sparkasse bank headquarters by redesigning the façades – not just for the people who work there but also for the urban context. The building’s new look now makes harmonious references to the diverse architecture in the area.

 

Example projects:

Youth activity centre in Beizhuang (China) by Moguang Studio

Ogumo Casa Kyoto Machiya Guesthouse in Kyoto (Japan) by Adamas Architect Ateliers

Rusted Mill House in Kardamyli (Greece) by Detale Architecture and Engineering

Algorithm Factory in Urla, Izmir (Turkey) by ONZ Architects

Sparkasse bank headquarters by GMS Architekten

Trends in der Architektur 2021

The Iconic Awards: Innovative Architecture setzen Trends

Holzarchitektur für eine CO2-neutrale Zukunft

Workstation Cabin, Hello Wood

Die Europäische Union soll bis 2050 klimaneutral werden. Dafür ist eine Dekarbonisierung auf allen wirtschaftlichen Ebenen erforderlich. Vor allem der Bausektor mit einem weltweiten Anteil von circa 40 Prozent an CO2-Emissionen bildet dabei einen kritischen Bereich – insbesondere Stahl und Beton benötigen immense Mengen an Energie bei der Herstellung. Um sich von diesen Baumaterialien und der damit verbundenen Umweltbelastung zu lösen, bedarf es eines Paradigmenwechsels. Dabei spielen natürliche, regenerative Baustoffe eine entscheidende Rolle.

Eine wahre Renaissance erlebt vor allem der ökologische Allrounder Holz. Holzarchitektur senkt die Kohlendioxidkonzentration in der Atmosphäre gleich in mehrerlei Hinsicht: Nachhaltig bewirtschaftete Wälder und Forste spielen eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Bekämpfung des Treibhauseffekts, indem sie der Atmosphäre CO2entziehen. Das für die Architektur eingesetzte Holz wiederum steigert den Klimaschutzeffekt, denn der Rohstoff bindet das für die Erderwärmung verantwortliche Treibhausgas auf natürliche Weise und wirkt damit als Kohlenstoffspeicher. Als nachwachsende und gleichzeitig auch leicht recycelbare Ressource ist es eine überzeugende Alternative zu den derzeit verwendeten mineralischen Baustoffen. Der gegenwärtige Trend zum seit Jahrtausenden im Gebrauch befindlichen Baumaterial Holz hat mit traditionellen Bautechniken allerdings nur bedingt zu tun. Dank computergestützter Entwurfsprogramme und dem Einsatz hochtechnisierter Bau- und Verarbeitungsmaschinen entstehen heute präzise berechnete Konstruktionen. Diese Ingenieursleistungen minimieren den Materialeinsatz, eröffnen aber auch in ästhetischer Hinsicht ganz neue Wege. Architektinnen und Architekten gehen hier mit viel Mut voran, und gestalten eine CO2-neutrale Zukunft aktiv mit.

Dieser Trend spiegelt sich bei den Gewinner-Projekten des ICONIC AWARDS: INNOVATIVE ARCHITECTURE 2021 wider. Das Büro KOZ Architectes hat mit Sensations in Straßburg das größte Wohnhaus aus Holz in Europa realisiert. Dieses elf Stockwerke hohe Gebäude mit 146 Wohnungen konnte dank technischer Spitzenleistungen selbst in dem seismisch aktiven Gebiet realisiert werden. Als Material kam Brettsperrholz beziehungsweise CLT (cross-laminated timber) zum Einsatz. Dieses Material wird auch für den derzeit in Rotterdam im Bau befindlichen Wohnturm Sawa von Mei architects and planners verwendet. Der am Hafen stehende Bau mit 50 Metern Höhe ist nach oben hin kontinuierlich abgestuft, bietet auf den Plateaus in jeder Etage viel Platz für Grünflächen und fördert so zusätzlich die Biodiversität. Was im Großen funktioniert, ergibt auch im ganz Kleinen Sinn: Die hölzerne Workstation von Hello Wood Studios ist ein modularer Mini-Raum, der schnell errichtet und flexibel genutzt werden kann. Auch abseits der großen Metropolen setzen sich neue Holztechnologien rasant durch: Ob das Stadttor Troisdorf von Atelier Brückner, das Passivhaus im fränkischen Seenland von Nouri-Schellinger, das Wohnhaus und Studio in Mellau von Jürgen Haller Architekten oder der Mehrgenerationen-Wohnbau in Gümligen von Marazzi + Paul Architekten – Holz ist in jedem Fall das Mittel der Wahl für den Sprung in ein grüne, CO2-neutrale Zukunft.

 

Beispielhafte Projekte:

Sensation in Straßburg (Frankreich) von KOZ Architectes

Sawa in Rotterdam (Niederlande) von Mei architects and planners

Stadttor Troisdorf (Deutschland) von Atelier Brückner

Wohnbau in Gümligen (Schweiz) von Marazzi + Paul Architekten

Workstation von Hello Wood Studios

Passiv-Zweifamilienhaus im fränkischen Seenland (Deutschland) von Nouri-Schellinger

Tempel 74 in Mellau (Österreich) von Jürgen Haller Architekten

Turmhaus Tirol (Österreich) von Grünecker Reichelt Architekten und holzrausch.

Imagebook Roots (Deutschland) von Agentur Stern

Umbau, adaptive Wiederverwendung und Urban Mining für die ökologische Wende

Rusted Mill House, DETALE Architecture and Engineering

Die Frage um die Begriffsbestimmung von „Nachhaltigkeit“ ist zugleich eine Diskussion um gesellschaftliche Werte. Einer dieser Werte ist die Neuheit eines Produkts oder Objekts. Sie wird bis heute per se als eine Auszeichnung verstanden. Diese Vorstellung ist in der Baubranche besonders problematisch. Sie führt zum umfassenden Abriss von Bestandsbauten, die neuen, vorgeblich besseren Gebäuden Platz machen müssen. Derzeit stehen eine ganze Reihe moderner Großstrukturen der Nachkriegszeit, die einst die Aufbruchsstimmung einer Generation versinnbildlichten, zur Disposition. Gerade aus ökologischer Sicht ist das Prinzip „Abriss und Neubau“ heute in vielen Fällen nicht mehr zielführend. Denn es geht einher mit einer immensen Verschwendung von Energie und Baumaterialien wie Beton und Stahl, welche nur in begrenztem Umfang recyclingfähig sind.

Inzwischen findet jedoch ein Umdenken statt. Gebäude werden durch architektonische Interventionen für die Ansprüche der Gegenwart saniert, renoviert und erweitert. Es entsteht eine neue „Sorge um den Bestand“: Urban Mining, also die Nutzung der vorhandenen Bausubstanz in der Stadt als Rohstoff für Neubauten, steht inzwischen hoch im Kurs. Nicht zuletzt hat die Europäische Kommission im Herbst 2020 die „Renovierungswelle“ als Teil des Green Deal vorgestellt. Sie sieht den massiven Ausbau der energetischen Instandsetzung von öffentlichen wie privaten Gebäuden vor.

Die Weiterverwendung bestehender Strukturen ist keine Nische mehr, sondern ein global zu beobachtendes Phänomen. Das zeigen auch die Auszeichnungen bei den ICONIC AWARDS: INNOVATIVE ARCHITECTURE 2021. Das chinesische Moguang Studio hat in Beizhuang eine ehemalige Textilfabrik in einen Ort für Jugendliche transformiert. Indoor-Spielplätze, Lernräume, Familien-Unterkünfte und ein Restaurant sind mit zeitgenössischen Einbauten in die historische Substanz integriert. Detale Architecture and Engineering haben im griechischen Ort Kardamyli ein Bauernhaus aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts restauriert, die Erweiterung in COR-TEN-Stahl setzt sich bewusst vom Bestand ab. Adamas Architect Ateliers ging beim Projekt Ogumo Casa Kyoto Machiya Guesthouse in Kyoto besonders behutsam vor. Alle Bauteile des historischen Holzhauses konnten repariert und so ein Ort kultureller und spiritueller Traditionen bewahrt werden. Im türkischen Urla, Izmir bauten ONZ Architects für ein Energieunternehmen eine verlassene Seifenfabrik in ein Forschungslabor um. Und GMS Architekten revitalisierten die Hauptstelle der Sparkasse im baden-württembergischen Singen durch eine Neugestaltung der Fassaden nicht nur für die dort arbeitenden Menschen, sondern zugleich für den urbanen Kontext – die neue Erscheinung nimmt nun stimmig Bezug auf die heterogene Architektur der Umgebung.

 

 

Beispielhafte Projekte

Jugendzentrum in Beizhuang (China) von Moguang Studio

Ogumo Casa Kyoto Machiya Guesthouse in Kyoto (Japan) von Adamas Architect Ateliers

Rusted Mill House in Kardamyli (Griechenland) von Detale Architecture and Engineering

Forschungslabor in Urla, Izmir (Türkei) von ONZ Architects

Sparkassenhauptstelle von GMS Architekten